h1

Word of mouth: A change for the better?

February 19, 2008

A pr professor of mine showed our class an on-line video last week. It was called “New Bush Coins: A Change for the Better”.New Bush Coins The premise of the video was the new American currency would be coins in gas gallon denominations. As the video states, this makes perfect sense because most of the money Americans make goes to the gas pump (I know mine does).

Basically the video was a satirical take on our country’s blundered leadership. There are tons of these “You-tube” type videos around the Internet, but how did my pr prof at Kent State University get her hands on it? The answer is via e-mail. One of her pr “buddies” sent it to her and that person received it through e-mail from another pr professional. So is this pr? Does it have any pr value? If you actually watch the video it may.

“Then there’s the Royal Limbaugh coin with the Greco-Roman interpretation of Sean Hannity, Bill O’Reilly and Ann Coultre under the heading one media, one voice”. Satirical? Yes. Effective? Possibly.

Does humor have a place in pr? Could  five minute privately produced on-line videos reach enough of the public to sway opinion? I don’t know but my professor showed our class, and I showed my brother, and my brother showed his politics professor at Notre Dame of Ohio, and his politics professor showed his class and…

7 comments

  1. New Bush Coins story. In case you haven’t noticed gold is at a all time high. I don’t think anyone will be trading there coins in. If this is what Kent State University students do in there spare time. There needs to be a draft to make use of your time.


  2. Coollikeme- I certainly did not infer that people should actually turn in their coins. Your comments indicate that you may have not watched the video. If you haven’t, you should. It’s not literal. I am surprised, however, that you threw in the draft comment. Is that because there aren’t enough soldiers to attack Iran?


  3. I apologize for sounding so mean. I had a few beers that night and didn’t use good judgment. Kent State is a good school, and I wish you good luck. I meant nothing by the draft comment. Sorry and I will check out your site in the future.


  4. Wanted to check out the blog of someone who would made such a brain-dead comment, but Coollikeme’s link isn’t working. Big surprise, eh?


  5. i didn’t see any link…and I really do not understand this story. What do you mean that there would be a new America currency and it would be in gas gallon denominations. Ummmm a little confused.


  6. Is that even possibly…? I don’t use all my money in gas I also use it for other things, but gas is still a big deal…I believe it’s not true.


  7. and one more question…if they have the new currency, Would the gas prices still continue to go up and if so will they have to keep changing the money…this story is not true!!!!



Leave a comment